2017 Achievement Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2017 recipients of the ARVO Achievement Awards:

Proctor Medal

Proctor and Friedenwald Awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding research in the basic or clinical sciences as applied to ophthalmology.

Gustavo Aguirre Gustavo D. Aguirre, VMD, PhD, FARVO (RC)

University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Aguirre's unique canine models of retinal degeneration have given us invaluable basic information about their counterpart human diseases. Moreover, this preclinical work has established safety and efficacy for most of the clinical trial work in progress on neurotrophic factors (CNTF) as well as gene therapy (RPE5). His most recent work on XLRP demonstrates that gene therapy can successfully arrest advanced photoreceptor and vision loss, dramatically expanding the therapeutic window to late stages of disease.

Friedenwald Award

Proctor and Friedenwald Awards are presented annually to recognize outstanding research in the basic or clinical sciences as applied to ophthalmology.

Paul Kaufman

Paul Kaufman, MD, FARVO (GL)
University of Wisconsin

Much like Jonas Friedenwald himself, Paul Kaufman has had a long and distinguished career of performing pioneering work in several areas of ophthalmic research. Much of our current understanding of the aqueous humor outflow system in the eye, and the mechanisms of many known and novel drugs, have been the direct result of his work. His extensive and superb work on the pathogenesis and treatment of glaucoma, as well as the mechanisms of accommodation has changed the way we practice medicine and has laid the groundwork for future generations of investigators.

Mildred Weisenfeld Award

The Weisenfeld Award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of distinguished scholarly contributions to the clinical practice of ophthalmology.

Joanne Seddon lightJohanna Seddon, MD, ScM, FARVO (CL)
Tufts University School of Medicine and Tufts Medical Center

Dr. Seddon is Professor and Founding Director of the Ophthalmic Epidemiology and Genetics Service at Tufts, and has been a Trustee and Vice-President of ARVO. She is a pioneer in ophthalmic epidemiology, particularly the study of nutritional, environmental and genetic risk factors for AMD. Enormous contributions include her studies of lifestyle factors which have influenced clinical practice world-wide. Groundbreaking discoveries of common and rare AMD genetic variants shed light on mechanisms and provided targets for therapies. Her predictive modeling insights have laid the groundwork for personalized medicine.

Cogan Award

The Cogan Award is recognizes a young researcher who is 45 years of age or less at the time of nomination. This person will have made important and worthwhile contributions to research in ophthalmology or visual science which is directly related to disorders of the human eye or visual system, and who shows substantial promise for the future.

Andrew_HubermanAndrew Huberman, PhD (NA)
Stanford University School of Medicine

Dr. Huberman has more than 15 years of experience studying the development, function and repair of mammalian visual circuits. He has made fundamental discoveries regarding the mechanisms of binocular circuit development, and pioneered the use of genetic and viral tools for labeling and probing specific retinal cells and their associated brain circuits. He is now also forging new paths in retinal disease research by bringing modern genetic tools to the study of glaucoma and optic nerve repair.

Kupfer Award

This award honors those who have demonstrated distinguished public service with national or global impact, on behalf of eye and vision research. 

Don EverettDonald Everett, MA (NA)
National Eye Institute 

Donald F. Everett, MA has been a project officer in the Collaborative Clinical Trials branch of the National Eye Institute for almost 30 years. During that time, he has served as the facilitator of, government representative to, and general "cheerleader" for many clinical trials that have changed the future of eye care for patients with glaucoma, retinopathy of prematurity, congenital cataract, keratoconus, myopia and many other ocular diseases.

Joanne G. Angle Award

The Joanne G. Angle Award is the highest honor bestowed by ARVO to recognize outstanding leaders who have made significant, continuous contributions to the Association in support of our mission. The award recognizes members that show significant personal involvement and commitment to ARVO and the eye and vision research community.

Robert_RitchRobert Ritch, MD, FARVO
New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai

Robert Ritch has a record of continuous service to ARVO since late 1991, including leading the “ARVO Host-a-Researcher Program” initiative, to enable researchers from low-income countries to attend the ARVO Annual Meeting. He has served in numerous leadership roles including the Board of Trustees, Annual Meeting Program Committee, Continuing Medical Education Committee, Global Members Committee, TVST journal editorial board, and as a mentor.


Distinguished Service Awards 


The Distinguished Service Award is presented to elected ARVO officers and editors-in-chief upon completion of their terms, in appreciation for dedicated service to ARVO. The recipients are presented a plaque during the ARVO Annual Meeting.


Craig Crosson Photo 
Executive Vice President
Craig E. Crosson, PhD, FARVO
Section: Physiology/Pharmacology
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, S.C.
Term: 2012 – 2017 
Immediate Past President
John I. Clark, PhD, FARVO
University of Washington
Seattle, Wash.
Term: 2012 – 2017
Bernstein Photo
Vice President and Biochemistry/Molecular Biology Trustee
Paul S. Bernstein, MD, PhD, FARVO
University of Utah/Moran Eye Center
Salt Lake City, Utah
Term: 2012 – 2017
Peter Lukasiewicz Photo
Vice President and Visual Neuroscience Trustee
Peter D. Lukasiewicz, PhD, FARVO
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Mo.
Term: 2012 – 2017


Harrington tower ad