Awards and Grants

The ARVO Foundation offers a number of awards to recognize the best and brightest in eye and vision research, and to assist vision scientists and eye researchers in their efforts to stay abreast of the latest trends. The Foundation offerings include specialty awards and travel grants. Some awards and fellowships are reviewed by the ARVO Foundation Awards Committee.

ARVO Foundation Awards Committee
W. Daniel Stamer, PhD, FARVO – Chair
Linda D. Hazlett, PhD, FARVO
Takeshi Iwata, PhD
Leonard Levin, MD, PhD FARVO
Philip J. Luthert, BSc, FRCP
Tammy M. Martin, PhD
Janos Nemeth, DSc, MD, PhD
Lois E. H. Smith, MD, PhD, FARVO
Terri L. Young, MD, FARVO

Ad hoc members  
Adriana Di Polo, PhD
Golis Malek, PhD
Kevin L. Schey, PhD
Janet R. Sparrow, PhD, FARVO


ARVO/Alcon Early Career Clinician-Scientist Research Awards  

Dr. David L. Epstein Award

Oberdorfer Award in Low Vision Research  

Pfizer Ophthalmics Carl Camras Translational Research Award

Dr. Roger Vogel Award for Pharmaceutical Research

Ludwig von Sallmann Clinician-Scientist Award  


Collaborative Research Fellowships

Developing Country Eye Researcher Travel Fellowships  

Genentech Age-related Macular Degeneration Fellowships


Alcon International Chapter Affiliates Matching Grants  

Publications Grant – apply today!

Travel Grants