Dr. David L. Epstein Award

This award honors David L. Epstein, MD, who is widely considered to be one of the most influential leaders in the world of glaucoma and glaucoma research over the past 40 years. The award is given annually to a well-established, senior investigator with a documented history of conducting eye and vision research in glaucoma and mentoring clinician-scientists to independent academic and research careers. The first award of $100,000 was presented at the 2016 Annual Meeting.

Award History

The award was created by the family of David L. Epstein, MD, to perpetuate and honor his commitment to the scientific understanding and cure of glaucoma through the support of promising clinician-scientists in exceptional research environments. It is the intent of the donors that this award further Dr. Epstein's long-standing determination and interest in solving the complex issues of glaucoma through well-conceived and executed scientific research focused on finding the causes and new treatments for the disease.

David L. Epstein, MD, passed away on March 4, 2014. The Joseph A.C. Wadsworth Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology, Dr. Epstein served as chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at Duke University School of Medicine for 22 years.

David L. Epstein photo

He was a longtime ARVO member and served as president in 1992. Dr. Epstein received the 2013 Mildred Weisenfeld Award for Excellence in Ophthalmology for his distinguished scholarly contributions to the clinical practice of ophthalmology. He developed novel drugs for the treatment of glaucoma, leading to 10 patents that involve all aspects of ophthalmic patient care and treatment.

Dr. Epstein authored more than 230 scholarly papers and consulted in glaucoma clinical care while maintaining an active glaucoma research program. He is credited with inspiring generations of young ophthalmologists as a gifted mentor and teacher with a Socratic teaching style. In 2012, he received Duke University School of Medicine Medical Alumni Association's Distinguished Faculty Award.

Dr. Epstein also served on numerous national scientific advisory boards, and as president of the Chandler-Grant Glaucoma Society in 1992 and the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology in 2013.

Recent recipients

View the 2017 Dr. David L. Epstein Award recipient.

2018 Dr. David L. Epstein Award timeline

Application opens July 1, 2017
Application closes September 1, 2017
Recipients notified November 2017

The award winner will be expected to present results from his/her research project at the ARVO Annual Meeting two years later.