ARVO Foundation and Dowling Society Gala

May 06, 2017 Baltimore, Maryland

ARVO Foundation and Dowling Society Gala Awards Ceremony and Dinner

The Saturday evening before the Annual Meeting, the ARVO Foundation hosts a dinner of over 400 members and friends of ARVO to honor individuals and organizations who have shown dedication to the ARVO Foundation and its mission. This evening among colleagues is a great start to the ARVO week. In 2016, the Gala raised over $124,000 to support the ARVO Foundation.

Please join us for the 2017 ARVO Foundation and Dowling Society Gala Awards Ceremony and Dinner!

Saturday, May 6, 2017
Hilton Baltimore
Key Ballroom

401 W. Pratt Street
Baltimore, Md. 

Welcome reception: 7:00pm
Dinner and ceremony: 7:30pm
Dessert reception immediately to follow dinner.

Information for guests

Check in: There are no physical tickets for this event. Please check in at the registration desks in the ballroom foyer when you arrive to receive your placecard with your table number.

Attire: Dress is a mix of business and cocktail attire. (Not black tie.)

The event is sold out. Tickets will not be available on site. 

2017 Table Sponsors

Mass Eye and Ear
SUNY Upstate Medical University

Nicolas G. Bazan, MD, PhD, FARVO, and Haydee Bazan, PhD, FARVO (2 tables)
Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health & Science University
Emily Y. Chew, MD, FARVO, and Robert P. Murphy, MD
Emory University
Fritch Family Foundation
Health Research Associates in honor of Sally Atherton, PhD
Kellogg Eye Center, University of Michigan
The Lowy Medical Research Institute (3 tables)
Mass Eye and Ear
Medical College of Wisconsin, Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
Stephen C. Pflugfelder, PhD, FARVO
Stella M. Robertson, PhD, and James D. Robertson, PhD
Scheie Eye Institute, University of Pennsylvania
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of California - San Francisco
University of Illinois at Chicago
University of Minnesota
University of Utah Moran Eye Center
USC Roski Eye Institute
Vanderbilt Eye Institute, Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
Washington University School of Medicine
Wills Eye Hospital
Wilmer Eye Institute

ARVO Foundation Honorees 
The ARVO Foundation recognizes members of the ARVO community who have established themselves as leaders in eye and vision research and, in addition, have been integral to furthering the mission of the ARVO Foundation through volunteer service to ARVO and the ARVO Foundation and/or a history of financial support to the Foundation.

Congratulations to the 2017 ARVO Foundation Honorees:

Sally Atherton  William_Brunken Alcon Foundation
Sally S. Atherton, PhD, FARVO William J. Brunken, PhD, FARVO The Alcon Foundation 

 Dowling Society Induction 
The ARVO Foundation recognizes new members of the Dowling Society at the annual Gala. Dowling Society members have made a commitment of supporting the ARVO Foundation with a gift of $10,000 or more. 

2017 New Dowling Society Members

Lancey B. Cowan, JD, CAE
Dale D. Hunter, PhD, JD
Joan W. Miller, MD, FARVO
Joel S. Schuman, MD, FARVO
David R. Williams, PhD, FARVO
Inger Williams, PhD
Thomas Yorio, PhD, FARVO

? Please contact the Amanda Johnson, Foundation Manager, at

Refund Policy

A written request must have been received by 5pm U.S. Eastern Time, April 1, 2017, in order to receive a full refund. No refunds will be given after April 1, 2017 for any reason.

Gala Co-chairs
Nicolas G. Bazan, MD, PhD, FARVO

Cheryl Mae Craft, PhD, FARVO

Thank you to the 2017 Gala Host Committee members!

Questions? Please contact Amanda Johnson, Foundation Manager, at

View photos from the 2016 Gala