To learn more about supporting or getting involved in WEAVR, please contact the ARVO Foundation

WEAVR Leadership Committee

Terri L. Young,
MD, FARVO  -  Chair

Sally S. Atherton,

Haydee E. P. Bazan,

Sarah E. Coupland,

Adriana Di Polo, PhD

M. Elizabeth Hartnett,

Amy Lo, PhD

Stella M. Robertson,

Lily L. Wong,


Women in Eye and Vision Research

new WEAVR logo

What is WEAVR?

Nearly 50% of ARVO’s members are female, yet only recently have women held leadership positions at ARVO. Few department chairs are female, and faculty report obstacles to women in the academic environment.

The ARVO Foundation for Eye Research established Women in Eye and Vision Research (WEAVR) in 2008 to further develop and strengthen the career paths of women in eye and vision research. Activities include networking opportunities and awarding travel grants to support new vision scientists worldwide.

What WEAVR offers

WEAVR offers networking and career development support for women who are training and working in the field of eye and vision research. WEAVR initiatives include:

  • WEAVR Luncheon — In addition to raising funds to support female scientists, this annual event provides great opportunities for networking. Luncheon attendees can meet new people and network with others in their field. Prominent scientists from around the world are invited as guest speakers to share their experiences.
  • WEAVR ARVOConnect Group  — The WEAVR Leadership Committee hosts a special group on ARVOConnect to network and share resources and information. Anyone who has attends the WEAVR Luncheon is added to this group, and any ARVO member may request to join. To join, please contact the ARVO Foundation.

Thanks to the funds raised at the luncheon, as well as donations to the ARVO Foundation, the WEAVR program supports the following  

Meet the 2017 WEAVR awardees

WEAVR congratulates the following female scientists who were selected as the recipients of WEAVR’s travel awards.

2017 WEAVR Developing Country Eye Researcher Travel Fellowship (DCERF)

Basma Baccouche, MRes
Higher Institute of Biotechnology of Sidi Thabet

2017 WEAVR Travel Grants

Shivani Sinha
Narayana Nethralaya

Yanin Suwan, MD
New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai