If you're interested in becoming a Dowling Society member, please contact the ARVO Foundation.

Dowling Society

new DS logo - blue  

The prestigious Dowling Society recognizes individuals for their significant support for eye and vision research. The society is named for vision researcher and first Chairman of the ARVO Foundation Board of Governors, John E. Dowling, PhD, FARVO in honor of his accomplishments within the ARVO Foundation, ARVO and the vision research community.

Members of the Dowling Society have made a pledge or donation to the Foundation for $10,000 or more. Members have the option of adding a spouse/partner for an additional contribution of $5,000. All members of the Dowling Society receive a commemorative medal and are recognized at the ARVO Foundation and Dowling Society Gala Awards Ceremony and Dinner held at the ARVO Annual Meeting. 

If you have made a donation to the ARVO Foundation in the past, you have already taken your first step towards becoming a Dowling Society member. 

Please contact Amanda Johnson, Foundation Manager, at info@arvofoundation.org or 240-221-2950 for more information.

Dowling Society Members


Gary W. Abrams, MD, FARVO and Jane C. Werner, MD

Robert E. Anderson, MD, PhD, FARVO

Joanne Angle, MLS, MPA

Sally S. Atherton, PhD, FARVO and Robert Atherton

Robert B. Barlow, PhD, FARVO and Patricia Barlow

Haydee E. P. Bazan, PhD, FARVO and Nicolas G. Bazan, MD, PhD, FARVO

Bernard Becker, MD, FARVO

David C. Beebe, PhD, FARVO and Mrs. Betsy Beebe PA-C

Eliot L. Berson, MD, FARVO and Kyra Kaplan-Berson

Roger W. Beuerman, PhD, FARVO

Laszlo Z. Bito, PhD

Jeffrey H. Boatright, PhD, FARVO

William J. Brunken, PhD, FARVO and Dale D. Hunter, PhD, JD

Claude F. Burgoyne, MD, FARVO

Patrick Burke, MD, PhD

Stanley Chang, MD, FARVO

Steve T. Charles, MD, FACS, FICS

Emily Y. Chew, MD, FARVO and Robert P. Murphy, MD

Bruce E. Cohan, MD

Lancey B. Cowan, JD, CAE

Cheryl M. Craft, PhD, FARVO

Patricia A. D'Amore, MBA, PhD, FARVO

Paulus T. V. M. de Jong, MD, PhD, FARVO, FEBOphth, FRCOphth and Marij de Jong

John E. Dowling, PhD, FARVO and Judith F. Dowling

Joseph L. Dowling, MD

David L. Epstein, MD, FARVO and Susan M. Epstein, RN, JD 

Rafal Farjo, PhD

Steven J. Fliesler, PhD, FARVO

Robert N. Frank, MD, FARVO

Ronald E. P. Frenkel, MD

Juan E. Gallo, MD, PhD, FARVO

Israel A. Goldberg, PhD and Diane Goldberg

Evangelos S. Gragoudas, MD, FARVO

Linda D. Hazlett, PhD, FARVO

David Huang, MD, PhD, FARVO

Martine J. Jager, MD, PhD, FARVO

Murray A. Johnstone, MD, and Jeanie Johnstone

Paul L. Kaufman, MD, FARVO and Margaret Kaufman

Shigeru Kinoshita MD, PhD, FARVO

Ingrid Kreissig, MD

Paul P. Lee, MD, JD, FARVO and Jennifer Lee

Jennifer J. Kang-Mieler, PhD and William F. Mieler, MD, FARVO

Ann H. Milam, PhD, FARVO

Joan W. Miller, MD, FARVO

Alan R. Morse, PhD

Janice Oliva

Samir C. Patel, MD

Christopher A. Paterson, PhD, DSc, FARVO

David R. Pepperberg, PhD FARVO

J. Mark Petrash, PhD, FARVO and Kelly Cope Petrash

Robert Ritch, MD, FARVO

Stella M. Robertson, PhD and James D. Robertson, PhD

Stephen J. Ryan, Jr., MD, FARVO

David E. Saffer

Jose Alain Sahel, Jr., MD, FARVO 

Joel S. Schuman, MD, FARVO

William Eric Sponsel, MD

W. Daniel Stamer, PhD, FARVO

Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD, FARVO

Joyce Tombran-Tink, PhD, FARVO

Carol B. Toris, PhD, FARVO 

Erik J. van Kuijk, MD, PhD and Virginia Brooke, RN, PhD

David R. Williams, PhD, FARVO and Inger M. Williams, PhD

Thomas Yorio, PhD, FARVO